EXPENSES AND FEES
The range of estimated nine-month expenses, including projected fees, books and supplies, room and board, and miscellaneous expenses for California-resident students attending UCI during the 2009-10 academic year are shown in the following chart; fees are subject to change without notice, and the University may impose additional fees. As of press time for the Catalogue, fee levels for 2009-10 have not yet been finalized.
Expenses for students living off campus vary depending upon number of roommates, location of apartment, amenities, and other factors. Graduate student expenses assume two students sharing a two-bedroom apartment. All other on- and off-campus estimates are based on two students sharing a bedroom. Figures are based on annual surveys and are intended only as a guide in computing average expenses.
|California-Resident Student Status||Living Arrangement||Estimated Nine-Month Expenses|
All fees, tuition, and charges are subject to change without notice, and the University may impose additional fees. As of press time for the Catalogue, the 2009-10 University Registration Fees, Educational Fees, Undergraduate Nonresident Tuition, and Professional School Student Fees were not yet finalized. Consult the Registrar's Web site at http://www.reg.uci.edu for the most up-to-date information.
NOTE: The fee levels shown in the following charts are for 2008-09 and have not been updated to reflect anticipated increases for 2009-10.
|University Registration Fee||$864.00||$864.00|
|Associated Students Fee||$54.00||$54.00|
|UCI Student Center Fee||$409.50||$409.50|
|Bren Events Center Fee||$69.00||$69.00|
|Recreation Center Fee||$264.00||$264.00|
|Campus Spirit Fee||$99.00||$99.00|
|Measure S Fee||$24.00||$24.00|
|UG Student Health Insurance Fee||$729.00||$729.00|
Graduate Student Fees for Academic Year 2008-09 1, 2, 3
|University Registration Fee||$864.00||$864.00|
|Associated Graduate Students Fee5||$27.00||$27.00|
|UCI Student Center Fee||$409.50||$409.50|
|Bren Events Center Fee||$69.00||$69.00|
|Recreation Center Fee||$264.00||$264.00|
|Grad. Student Health Insurance Fee||$2,506.00||$2,506.00|
1 Student fees are based on three quarters of attendance. Second- and third-year medical students attend four quarters; summer 2008 quarter fees of $2,325.50 for these medical students are not included in this table.
2 The fee level shown does not include the Professional School Student Fees. The 2008-09 fee for M.B.A. students was $17,456 for residents and $16,345 for nonresidents; for M.S. in Nursing Science students, $3,685 for residents and nonresidents; for M.P.H. students, $4,541 for residents and nonresidents; for M.D. students, $14,984; M.D. students pay an additional $61 fee for Medical Student Disability Insurance. The proposed Professional School Student Fee for the J.D. program is $24,408 for residents and $22,803 for nonresidents.
3 These fees are not applicable to self-supporting programs such as the Executive, Health Care Executive, and Fully Employed M.B.A. programs and the M.A.S. in Criminology, Law and Society in the School of Social Ecology. Contact the respective School for fee information.
4 The 2008-09 Educational Fee was $6,204 for students in The Paul Merage School of Business, M.D. students, and M.S. in Nursing Science students. The fee for M.P.H.students was $7,122 for residents and $7,434 for nonresidents.
5 The Associated Graduate Students Fee is $42 for students in The Paul Merage School of Business and $57 for M.D. students.
Payment of Fees
Fees for each quarter are due and payable in advance within deadlines published in the Quarterly Calendar with Deadlines on the Registrar's Web site at http://www.reg.uci.edu. A student will not be officially registered in classes until fees are paid in full, with the exception of students who are participating in the PACE Plan.
Information about fee refunds and appears later in this section.
The University Registration Fee is required of all students regardless of the number of courses taken, unless otherwise noted. This fee is a charge to each student for services which benefit the student and which are complementary to, but not a part of, the instructional programs. No part of this fee is refundable to students who do not use all or any of these services. Graduate students studying out of the State may be eligible to pay one-half of the Registration Fee. Continuing and returning students are required to pay all outstanding fines and other debts, in full, before they pay their Registration Fee for an upcoming term. M.D. students are required to pay the full Registration Fee for each fall, winter, and spring quarter, and a reduced Registration Fee of $80 for each summer quarter.
The Educational Fee provides general support for the University's operating budget, including costs related to instruction, and funds student financial aid and related programs, counseling and career guidance, academic advising, tutorial assistance, social and cultural activities, and overhead associated with student services activities. M.D. students are required to pay the full Educational Fee for each quarter in which they enroll, including the summer quarter. The summer quarter Educational Fee level for M.D. students will be the same as that of the previous spring quarter.
The Associated Students Fee is administered by the Associated Students of UCI, the Associated Graduate Students, The Paul Merage School of Business Student Association, and the Associated Medical Students. These funds provide social activities, lectures, forums, concerts, and other activities at either a reduced charge, or no charge, to UCI students. The fees are required of all students.
The UCI Student Center Fee is required of all students regardless of the number of courses taken. The fee is used to pay the debt service on revenue bonds sold to finance the construction costs of the UCI Student Center.
The Bren Events Center Fee is required of all students regardless of the number of courses taken or units carried. The fee is used to pay the debt service on revenue bonds sold to finance the construction costs of the Bren Events Center.
The Recreation Center Fee is required of all students regardless of the number of courses taken or units carried. The fee is used to pay the debt service on revenue bonds sold to finance the construction costs of the Student Recreation Center and Athletics facilities improvements.
The Campus Spirit Fee is required of all undergraduate students regardless of the number of courses taken or units carried. The fee is used to support Athletics and Campus Spirit Programs.
The Measure S Fee is required of all undergraduate students regardless of the number of courses taken or units carried. The fee is used to support, upgrade, and expand the ASUCI Express Shuttle.
The Undergraduate Student Health Insurance Fee is charged over three quarters (fall, winter, and spring) to provide 12-month coverage from September through August. The fee is required of all undergraduate students regardless of the number of courses taken or units carried. The fee is used to provide undergraduate students with health insurance. If students provide evidence of comparable coverage from another source, participation in the mandatory plan may be waived. This fee is subject to change pending the outcome of negotiations with insurance carriers.
The Graduate Student Health Insurance Fee is charged over three quarters (fall, winter, and spring) to provide 12-month coverage from September through August. The fee is required of all graduate and medical students regardless of the number of courses taken or units carried. The fee is used to provide graduate and medical students with health insurance. If students provide evidence of comparable coverage from another source, participation in the mandatory plan may be waived. This fee is subject to change pending the outcome of negotiations with insurance carriers.
The Medical Student Disability Insurance Fee is required of all medical students. The entire annual fee is charged for the fall quarter.
The Professional School Student Fee is required of all students in the M.D, M.B.A., M.P.H., J.D., and M.S. in Nursing Science programs, regardless of the number of units taken.
A $1,000 advance deposit on the Professional School Student Fee is required of all new M.B.A. students upon their acceptance of admission. This deposit is nonrefundable.
Miscellaneous Fees (subject to change without notice)
|Application Fee1, 2|
|Graduate3 and Medical||$70.00|
|International Graduate3 and Medical||$90.00|
|Application Fee for Readmission1|
|Advancement to Candidacy for Ph.D.||$90.00|
|Duplicate Diploma, School of Medicine||$125.00|
|Filing Fee (graduate programs; one-half registration fee)||$144.00|
|Graduate Special Library Borrowing Privileges (per year, nonrefundable, renewable)4||$50.00|
|Master's Thesis Submission Fee||$55.00|
|M.B.A. Acceptance of Admissions Deposit1||$1,000.00|
|Transcript of Record (per copy)||$10.00|
|Undergraduate Acceptance of Admission Fee (applied toward University Registration Fee)1||$100.00|
|Verification of Student Status (per copy)||$10.00|
1 Nonrefundable in all cases.
2 The fee entitles an applicant to apply to one UC campus. Applicants who are applying to more than one campus must pay the fee for each campus selected.
3 The Application Fee for The Paul Merage School of Business is $150.
4 This fee entitles graduate students on Official Leave of Absence or Filing Fee Status to keep their library privileges.
Service Charges (subject to change without notice)
|Changes in Class Enrollment after Announced Dates (each transaction)||$3.00|
|Credit by Examination (each petition)||$5.00|
|Late Payment of Registration Fees||$50.00|
|Late Enrollment in Classes||$50.00|
|Returned Check Collection||$25.00|
|Student Parking Permits1|
In addition, students may be assessed a course materials fee. Consult the online Schedule of Classes for courses requiring the fee and the fee level.
1 In accordance with Regents policy, UC parking systems are self-supporting auxiliary enterprises receiving no State appropriations. See http://www.parking.uci.edu/ for fee levels of other types of parking permits. Prices shown are for 2008-09 and are subject to change for 2009-10.
SPECIAL FEE PROGRAMS, WAIVERS, AND EXEMPTIONS
The PACE Installment Plan allows students to spread the quarterly costs of fee payment over a three-month period. A fee is charged for this privilege. Information about PACE is available from Campus Billing Services, 109 Aldrich Hall; telephone (949) 824-2455.
Reduced-Fee Part-Time Study Program
Part-time study for credit leading to an undergraduate or graduate degree is available in some academic units. To take advantage of reduced fees for part-time status, quarterly course enrollment is limited to 10 units or fewer for undergraduate students and to eight units or fewer for graduate students. Students enrolled in excess units after Friday of the third week of instruction are liable for full fees.
The same admissions standards that apply to full-time students apply to part-time students. Under University policy, academic deans (the Dean of the Division of Undergraduate Education, for undecided/undeclared students; the Dean of Graduate Studies, for graduate students) may approve Petitions for Part-Time Status only for reasons of occupation, family responsibilities, or health.
Undergraduate and graduate students on approved part-time status pay the full University Registration Fee and one-half the Educational Fee. Those part-time students who have been determined to be nonresidents of the State of California are assessed one-half the Nonresident Tuition, in addition to the full Registration Fee and one-half the Educational Fee. Part-time students pursuing a professional degree are assessed one-half the Professional School Student Fee, the full Registration Fee, and one-half of the Educational Fee.
Part-time status lapses at the end of each academic year; therefore, a student must reapply each year that part-time status is desired. See the Registrar's Web site at http://www.reg.uci.edu for more information.
Undergraduate petitions are available from academic counselors or the Registrar's Office; graduate students may obtain further information and petitions from the Graduate Division. All students are encouraged to consult with the Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships regarding minimum unit requirements.
Fee Reduction for Staff and Academic Employees
Students who are career employees at UCI or the University of California, Irvine Medical Center are eligible for a two-thirds reduction of the University Registration Fee, the University Educational Fee, and campus-based fees. This applies for up to nine units or three regular session University courses per quarter, whichever is greater. For staff employees, additional information and the Employee Application for Reduced Fees is available from Human Resources. Academic employees should contact the Office of Academic Personnel.
Exemptions from the Nonresident Tuition Fee
See the California Residence and the Nonresident Tuition Fee section below for information about exemptions from the Nonresident Tuition Fee.
Exemptions from Fees
A student who is a child, spouse, or registered domestic partner of a resident law enforcement officer or fire fighter killed in active duty shall be exempted from nonresident tuition and fees in accordance with Section 68120 of the Education Code of the State of California.
In accordance with Section 66025.3 of the Education Code of the State of California, a resident student may be exempted from mandatory systemwide fees if (a) the student is the child or dependent of a veteran of the United States military who has a service-connected disability or who has been killed in service; (b) the student is the dependent of a member of the California National Guard who, while in active service of the State, has acquired a service-connected disability or has been killed in service; or (c) the student is the surviving spouse (who has not remarried) or registered domestic partner (who has not married or registered as a domestic partner) of a member of the California National Guard who, while in active service of the State, has acquired a service-connected disability or has been killed in service.
A nonresident student who meets the requirements of Section 68130.5 of the Educational Code of the State of California regarding attendance and graduation from a California high school shall be exempt from paying nonresident tuition.
CALIFORNIA RESIDENCE AND THE NONRESIDENT TUITION FEE
All students who have not lived in California with the intent to make California their permanent home for more than one calendar year prior to the residence determination date for each quarter or semester they propose to attend the University must pay the Nonresident Tuition Fee. The residence determination date is the day instruction begins at the last of the University of California campuses to open for the quarter, and for schools on the semester system, the day instruction begins for the semester.
Laws Governing Residence
The rules regarding residence classification for tuition purposes at the University of California are governed by the California Educational Code and implemented by the Standing Orders of The Regents of the University of California. Under these rules adult citizens and certain classes of non-citizens can establish residence for tuition purposes. There are particular rules that apply to the residence classification of minors.
Who Is a Resident?
Adult students (at least 18 years of age) may establish residence for tuition purposes in California if they are a U.S. citizen, a permanent resident or other immigrant, or a nonimmigrant who is not precluded from establishing a domicile in the U.S. This includes nonimmigrants who hold valid visas of the following types: A, E, H-1, H-4, I, K, L, O-1, O-3, R, or V.
To establish residence a student must, immediately prior to the residence determination date:
1. Be physically present in California for more than one calendar year, and
2. Must have come to California with the intent to make California the permanent home. For example, physical presence within the state of California solely for educational purposes does not constitute the establishment of California residence regardless of the length of stay.
3. Students under 24 years of age whose parents are not residents of California will be required to meet the Financial Independence requirement in order to be classified as a resident for tuition purposes.
Residence cannot be derived from a spouse or parents.
Requirements for Financial Independence
The financial independence requirement will not be a factor in residence determination if the student meets one of the following criteria:
1. The student's parents upon whom the student is financially dependent, are residents of California.
2. At least 24 years of age by December 31 of the calendar year of the term for which resident classification is requested.
3. Veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces.
4. A ward of the court or both parents are deceased.
5. Has legal dependents other than a spouse or registered domestic partner.
6. A married or registered domestic partner student, a graduate student, or a professional student who was not claimed as an income tax deduction by parents or any other individual for the tax year immediately preceding the term for which resident classification is requested.
7. Financial independence is not a factor in residence status for graduate student instructors, graduate student teaching assistants, research assistants, junior specialists, postgraduate researchers, graduate student researchers, and teaching associates who are employed 49 percent or more of full time in the term for which resident classification is requested.
8. An unmarried undergraduate student, not claimed as an income tax deduction by parents or any other individual for the two tax years immediately preceding the term for which resident classification is requested, who can demonstrate self-sufficiency for those years.
9. Reached the age of majority in California while his/her parents were residents of this state and the California resident parents leave the state to establish a residence elsewhere and the student continues to reside in California after the parents' departure.
Establishing Intent to become a California Resident
Relevant indicia that contribute to the demonstration of a student's intent to make California the permanent home include, but are not limited to, the following: registering to vote and voting in California elections; designating a California permanent address on all records (i.e., school, employment, military); obtaining a California Driver License or California Identification Card; obtaining a California vehicle registration; paying California income taxes as a resident (including taxes on income earned outside California from the date California residence was established); maintaining a California residence in which personal belongings are kept; licensing for professional practice in California; and the absence of these indicia in places other than California during any period for which residence in California is asserted.
General Rules Applying to Minors
The residence of the parent with whom an unmarried minor (under the age of 18) lives is the residence of the unmarried minor. When the unmarried minor does not live with either parent, the residence of the unmarried minor is that of the parent with whom the unmarried minor last lived. An unmarried minor may establish his or her own residence when both parents are deceased and a legal guardian has not been appointed unless the unmarried minor is a minor non-citizen who is precluded by the Immigration and Nationality Act from establishing domicile in the U.S. The residence of an unmarried minor who has a parent living cannot be changed by the unmarried minor's own act, by the appointment of a legal guardian, or by the relinquishment of a parent's right of control.
Specific Rules Applying to Minors
1. Parent of Minor Moves from California. If the California resident parent(s) of an eligible minor moves from California, the minor will be entitled to resident classification as long as the minor enrolls full-time in a California public postsecondary institution within one calendar year of the parent's departure, and remains physically present in California. This classification will continue until the minor has attained the age of majority and has resided in California for the minimum time required to become a resident. The Financial Independence requirement does not apply to this situation.
2. Self-Supporting Minor. Minor students who are U.S. citizens or eligible non-citizens may be eligible for resident classification if documentation of physical presence, intent to be a California resident, and self-support through the student's own employment or credit is provided for the entire calendar year prior to the residence determination date.
3. Two-Year Care and Control. Minor students who are U.S. citizens or eligible non-citizens may be eligible for resident classification if they have lived with and been under the continuous care and control of an adult or series of adults other than a parent for not less than two calendar years. The adult or series of adults must have been responsible for care and control for the entire two-year period and must be California residents for 366 days prior to the residence determination date of the term for which resident classification is requested.
Exemptions from the Nonresident Tuition Fee
Students for whom any of the following conditions apply may be eligible for an exemption from the Nonresident Tuition Fee.
1. Member of the Armed Forces, dependent spouse, registered domestic partner, or child. A student on active duty as a member of the Armed Forces of the United States stationed in California, and their spouses or registered domestic partner, and dependent children. An undergraduate who is the natural or adopted child, stepchild, spouse, or registered domestic partner who is the dependent of a member of the U.S. Armed Forces, stationed in California on active duty, may be entitled to an exemption from the nonresident tuition. Graduate and professional school students are entitled to this exemption for two years, during which time the student must fulfill the UC residence requirements in order to maintain residency status.
2. Child, spouse, or registered domestic partner of a faculty member. To the extent that university funds are available, a student who is the unmarried, dependent child under the age of 21 or the spouse or registered domestic partner of a University of California faculty member who is a member of the Academic Senate.
3. University employee or dependent child, spouse, or registered domestic partner of a University employee. A student who is a full-time University employee who is permanently assigned to work outside the State of California or the unmarried, dependent child under the age of 21 or the spouse or registered domestic partner of a full-time employee of the University of California who is permanently assigned to work outside the State of California (i.e., Los Alamos National Laboratory).
4. Child, spouse, or registered domestic partner of a deceased public law enforcement or fire suppression employee. A student who is the child, spouse, or registered domestic partner of a deceased public law enforcement or fire suppression employee, who was a California resident and was killed in the course of law enforcement or fire suppression duties.
5. Dependent child of a California resident. A student who has not been an adult resident for more than one year and is the natural or adopted, dependent child of a California resident who has been a resident for more than one year immediately prior to the residence determination date. The student must also maintain full-time attendance in a California public postsecondary institution.
6. Graduate of a California school operated by the Federal Bureau of Indian Affairs (B.I.A.). A student who is a graduate of a California school operated by the B.I.A. (i.e., Sherman Indian High School) and who enrolls at the University of California.
7. Employee of California public school district. A student holding a valid credential authorizing service in California public schools and employed by a school district in a full-time certificate position.
8. Student athlete in training at U.S. Olympic Training Center, Chula Vista. An amateur student athlete in training at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, until the student has resided in California the minimum time necessary to become a resident.
9. Graduate of California high school. A student who attended high school in California for three or more years (9th grade included) and graduated from California high school (or attained the equivalent).
10. Congressional Medal of Honor recipient. An undergraduate student under age 27 who is the recipient of the Congressional Medal of Honor or a child of a recipient who at the time of his or her death was a California resident.
11. Surviving dependents of 9/11 terrorist attacks. Undergraduate students who are the surviving dependents of a California resident who was killed in the 9/11/01 terrorist attacks of the World Trade Center, the Pentagon Building, or the crash of United Airlines flight 93.
If a nonresident student is in the process of establishing a domicile in California and returns to his or her former home during noninstructional periods, the student's presence in California will be presumed to be solely for educational purposes and only convincing evidence to the contrary will rebut this presumption. Students who are in the State of California solely for educational purposes will not be classified as residents for tuition purposes regardless of their length of stay in California.
If a student who has been classified as a resident for tuition purposes leaves California temporarily, the absence could result in the loss of California residence. The burden of proof is on the student to demonstrate through documentation that he or she (or the parents if the student is a minor) did nothing inconsistent with a claim of continuing California residence during a temporary absence. Steps that should be taken to retain California residence include, but are not limited to:
1. Continue to use a California address on all records (educational, employment, military, among others).
2. Continue to satisfy California tax obligations. A student claiming California residence is liable for payment of income taxes on his or her total income from the date he or she begins to establish residence in California, including income earned in another state or country.
3. Retain a California voter's registration and vote by absentee ballot.
4. Maintain a California Driver License, California Identification Card, and vehicle registration in California. If it is necessary to change the driver's license or vehicle registration, it must be changed back to California in the time prescribed by law.
Change in Resident Classification
Continuing students who are classified as nonresidents for tuition purposes, and who believe that they will be eligible for resident status for an upcoming quarter, must submit a Petition for Resident Classification to the Office of the Registrar in order to have their residence status changed before they submit their registration fee payment for the applicable quarter. Students must initiate all changes of status before the registration deadline of the quarter for which they want to be reclassified. (Specific deadline dates are listed on the Registrar's Web site at http://www.reg.uci.edu.) Students are strongly encouraged to submit their petition at the earliest possible date in order to expedite the review process. As long as submission deadlines are met, students may be allowed a period of time no later than the end of the quarter to provide any additional documentation required for residence determination.
Any student found to be incorrectly classified as a resident is subject to nonresident classification and to payment of all previously unpaid Nonresident Fees. If a student has concealed information or furnished false information, and was classified incorrectly as a result, the student is also subject to University discipline. Resident students who become nonresidents of California must immediately notify the UCI Residence Officer.
Inquiries and Appeals
Inquiries regarding residence requirements, determination, and/or recognized exceptions should be directed to the University of California, Irvine, Residence Officer, Registrar's Office, 215 Aldrich Hall, Irvine, CA 92697-4975, telephone (949) 824-6129, or to the Principal Legal Analyst, Residence Matters, 1111 Franklin Street, 8th Floor, Oakland, CA 94607-5200. No other University personnel are authorized to supply information relative to residence requirements for tuition fee purposes.
This summary is not a complete explanation of the law regarding residence classification. Additional information is available from the Office of the Registrar. Changes may be made in the residence requirements between the publication of this statement and the relevant residence determination date. Any student, following a final decision on residence classification by the Residence Officer, may appeal in writing to the Legal Analyst within 30 days of notification of the Residence Officer's final decision.
Student Fee Refunds
Students who pay fees for a regular academic quarter and then decide to withdraw from the University must submit a Withdrawal form to the Registrar's Office after obtaining the signatures of their academic dean. Medical students must submit the form to the Curricular Affairs Office in the School of Medicine. This form serves two purposes: (1) a refund of fees, if applicable; and (2) withdrawal from classes.
The effective date of withdrawal is used in determining the percentage of fees to be refunded. This date is normally the date that the student submits the form to the appropriate Dean for approval. It is presumed that no University services will be provided to the student after that date. Registration fees are refunded as follows.
Students should bear in mind that the "first day of the quarter" often is several days prior to the "first day of instruction."
Through the first day of instruction, fees are refunded in full, except for (1) a $10 service charge for continuing and readmitted students, or the $100 Acceptance of Admission Fee for new undergraduate students, or the applicable deposit fee for new health sciences and MBA students, and (2) the Student Health Insurance Fee. (The Student Health Insurance Fee is refunded only if the Withdrawal form is submitted prior to the first day of the quarter.)
A refund of the Medical Student Disability Insurance Fee (if applicable) may be requested.
After the first day of instruction, the fee refund is prorated as shown (with the exception of the Health Insurance Fee).
|Calendar days, beginning with the first day of instruction||Refund|
|over 35||no refund|
Claims for a refund of fees must be presented during the fiscal year (July 1 to June 30) in which the claim is applicable. Refund checks are issued by the Accounting Office approximately three weeks after the official notice of withdrawal is initiated.
Financial Aid Recipients
Financial aid recipients should see the UCI Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships Student Withdrawal Policy on page 31, or consult the Web site at http://www.ofas.uci.edu.
UCI Housing Contracts provide students with complete housing refund policies.